Brahms with Anna Vinnitskaya

Buy ticket

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-flat major, Op. 83

– intermission –

DEBUSSY La Cathédrale engloutie (instrumentation by Leopold Stokowsky)

DEBUSSY L'isle joyeuse (instrumentation by Bernardino Molinari)

BARTÓK The Miraculous Mandarin, BB 82 – suite



Anna Vinnitskaya piano

Conductor András Keller

Concerto Budapest Symphony Orchestra


Anna Vinnitskaya, who is in her mid-30s and winner of the Brussels Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2006, has already been a guest of András Keller and Concerto Budapest several times, and on each occasion she played some particularly, indeed petrifyingly difficult piece from the concerto genre for her audience in Budapest. This time, the globetrotting soloist performs the second piano concerto by Brahms, which is not only familiar to Hungarian concertgoers, but at the same time a work that we have cause to be proud of since the first public performance of the Concerto in B-flat major was in Hungary, in the Pesti Vigadó, in 1881. The second half opens with two Debussy works arranged for grand orchestra; both instrumentalizations were carried out by hugely imaginative conductors from the last century, Leopold Stokowsky and Bernardino Molinari. Bartók’s “one-act pantomime” based on the story of Menyhért Lengyel was created between 1918 and 1924, but the revolutionary novel nature of the Mandarin elicited considerable scandal for some time: for example, after the world premiere in Cologne in 1926, the then mayor Konrad Adenauer banned any further performances.

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets