Hungarian Gems - Classics from Three Ages

KODÁLY: Theatre Overture
GOLDMARK: Violin Concerto in A minor, Op. 28

Giovanni Guzzo (violin)
Concerto Budapest
Conductor: Gábor Takács-Nagy

The programme of the closing concert of the Hungarian Gems series evokes three periods of music history through three exciting works that are new to many. The Theatre Overture composed subsequently to precede Háry János is by no means always performed at the staging of the folk opera; the concert version of this work was first unveiled at the Vienna Musikvereinsaalin in 1932. The A minor violin concerto, the work of Károly Goldmark dating from 1877 and composed shortly after the global success of The Queen of Sheba, has even stronger ties to the imperial city although its first public performance took place in Bremen. Soloist of the work by the Keszthely-born composer is the Venezuelan violinist of Italian extraction Giovanni Guzzo, celebrated as a brilliant chamber musician and concertmaster of the Camerata Salzburg. In the wake of the piece by Goldmark, who lived to the age of 85, the performance of Symphony by Ferenc Farkas (who lived a decade longer), concludes the programme of this concert featuring conductor Gábor Takács-Nagy and at the same time the series as a whole.