Adés / Rachmaninov / Beethoven / Bogányi / Engegård

THOMAS ADÈS Polaris – Hungary premiere
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, op. 18
--- interval ---
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67

Featuring: Gergely Bogányi piano
Conductor: Arvid Engegård


The work entitled Polaris after the North (Pole) Star by perhaps the most exciting composer of our day was written in 2011 for the opening of the New World Center, a multimedia concert venue in Miami Beach, Florida. The premiere in Hungary of the single-movement Adès work judged to be ‘excessively beautiful’ by one overseas critic takes place in a concert in which two hugely popular compositions follow Polaris. The Rachmaninov work with solo by Kossuth Prize laureate Gergely Bogányi, the Piano Concerto No. 2 written at the turn of the century, dissolved one of the largest creative blocks in the composer’s life. Rachmaninov, who earlier had been treated with hypnotherapy, managed to pull out of deep depression and in his gratitude dedicated this virtuoso and immediately popular concerto to his doctor. The second half of the concert is dedicated to Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5, conducted by the skilled Norwegian violinist Arvid Engegård who at one time studied under Sándor Végh in Salzburg.