Cancelled - Beethoven Piano Sonatas 2: Fülöp Ránki

Beethoven: Sonata in E major, Op. 14, No. 1                                             

Beethoven: Sonata in F-sharp major, Op. 78                                                          

Beethoven: ‘Les Adieux’ Sonata in E-flat major, Op. 81a           

Performer: Fülöp Ránki piano                

Beethoven composed the majority of his piano sonatas in the first decade or so of his mature artistic career. The programme of the second hour of the series spans this period: from the E major sonata written at the very end of the 18th century to the E-flat major sonata dating from 1809-10, which virtually uniquely bears a name according with the wishes of the composer (Les AdieuxThe Farewells). The former is dedicated to Baroness Josefa von Braun, wife of a court theatre intendant in Vienna, and the latter work is dedicated to Archduke Rudolf, Beethoven’s most distinguished sponsor and student. However, to a local audience the dedicatee of the F-sharp major sonata that is positioned in the middle of the programme (and was a particular favourite of the composer) is even closer, since the two-movement composition was written for Countess Teréz Brunswick, a member of the Hungarian nobility. Performer of all three sonatas is 25-year-old Fülöp Ránki, who following in his parents’ footsteps has had an ever increasing influence on the domestic and international concert scene for several years now. And not without reason since the Junior Prima award-winning pianist has proven his talent and artistic profundity at numerous memorable concerts, for instance the event at the Liszt Academy in April 2019 when he played the entire series of Liszt’s Transcendental Études in a single session.