Concerto Summer Evenings No 1

Händel: “Amabile Beltà” Concerto for Flute and English Horn
Orsolya Kaczander flute, Dániel Ella English horn

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049
Zsófia Környei violin, Orsolya Kaczander, Szabolcs Szilágyi flute

Vivaldi: The Four Seasons
Zsófia Környei violin

Amabile beltà, or amicable beauty – this phrase appears in the title of the first number on the concert programme although it is no exaggeration to say that it applies equally well to the whole of this Baroque programme. Andreas N. Tarkmann arranged and scored the opening Händel concerto in 2006: melodies of the four movements were borrowed from Acis, Galatea and Polyphemus, the second Organ Concerto of the opus 4 series, and the operas Alessandro and Julius Caesar in Egypt. The posthumous Händel composition features solos by Orsolya Kaczander, flautist with Concerto Budapest, and Dániel Ella, a member of the same orchestra. This is followed by two ever-popular classics: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 and The Four Seasons; the concertmaster of the ensemble, Zsófia Környei, plays a leading role in both works. “Beneath the blazing sun's relentless heat / men and flocks are sweltering, pines are scorched” runs the sonnet to the Summer concerto, and if this description should suit this evening, we will not in all probability have to be concerned about a sudden summer storm made so tangible in the poem and the music.