Hungarian Gems 1 / Bartók / Dubrovay / Liszt-Weiner

LÁSZLÓ DUBROVAY Concerto for Percussion and Orchestra
BARTÓK Violin Concerto No. 1, BB.48a

--- interval ---

LISZT–WEINER Sonata in B minor

Featuring: Dániel Janca percussion, Maria Włoszczowska violin

Conductor: Zoltán Rácz

Concerto Budapest performs László Dubrovay's percussion concerto (2003), that is suggestive of a Bartók influence, with Dániel Janca instrumentalist, who takes the extremely demanding principal part playing the marimba and vibraphone. Béla Bartók was inspired by and wrote his Violin Concerto No. 1 for Stefi Geyer around 1907-1908. The work only came to the attention of the world after the death of the composer and the violinist, who had returned Bartók’s passion with friendship only. The solo is taken by the young Polish violinist and much sought-after chamber musician Maria Włoszczowska, winner of several major competitions. Zoltán Rácz, unimpeachable in the area of percussion music, conducts the concert, the closing number of which is an interesting transcription: a variation for grand orchestra of Liszt’s Piano Sonata in B minor in the faithful and rich arrangement of Leó Weiner.