Miklós Perényi, Keller Quartet and Concerto Budapest - online concert broadcast

WAGNER Siegfried Idyll, WWV 103
SCHUMANN Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 129
– intermission –
SCHUBERT String Quintet in C major, D. 956

Miklós Perényi (cello)
Keller Quartet (András Keller, Zsófia Környei (violin), Gábor Homoki (viola), László Fenyő (cello))
Concerto Budapest
Conductor: András Keller

We're broadcasting this performance live!

Tonight’s programme is characterized by masterful expertise and artistic inspiration as well as the duality of inherited tradition and the personal message, equally combined with the full collaboration of the performance artists. Such merits are immediately evident in the first number, Richard Wagner’s Siegfried Idyll placing the focus on the serenade tradition and the most personal creator – and husband – confession. The A minor cello concerto composed by Robert Schumann in 1850 (and as defined by the composer: a concerto work for cello with orchestral accompaniment) features the solo by a musician who is the true embodiment of the desirable harmony of the abovementioned values. Miklós Perényi is this great instrumentalist, who will play together with fully worthy partners, that is, members of Keller Quartet, after the intermission: the C major string quintet, a valedictory chamber music masterpiece composed in the final year of the life of Franz Schubert, in 1828. No less an authority than György Kurtág himself had the following to say about this composition and its sublime Adagio movement: “My ideal of beauty is the slow movement of Schubert’s String Quintet. My ideal of beauty is that something is beautiful.”

The concert could be visited with the following season tickets