New date - BEETHOVEN DAYS: Várjon, Perényi, Marwood, Keller

BEETHOVEN: Egmont Overture, op. 84

BEETHOVEN: Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano in C major, op. 56

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No.7 in A major, op. 92

Performers Dénes Várjon piano, Miklós Perényi cello, Anthony Marwood violin

Conductor András Keller

New date and new performers: 28 November, 2020. 7.30 p.m.

At this Beethoven Days concert dedicated to the memory of Annie Fischer, András Keller brings three exemplary Beethoven works and three great instrumental soloists to our attention. The heroic Egmont Overture, forever in Hungarian minds arousing memories of 1956, was finalized in 1810: it was written for the historical drama by Goethe and the music quickly became more popular than the play. The solo parts for the three-movement Triple Concerto in C major (the debut of which was in 1808) are played by two of the finest musicians in Hungarian music today, Miklós Perényi and Dénes Várjon, joined by the superb British violinist Anthony Marwood, much sought-after globally as both concert soloist and chamber musician. Symphony No. 7 in A major written between 1811-1812 was first performed in public at the grand hall of Vienna University on 8 December 1813, under the baton of the composer who by that time, as deafness encroached, largely relied on sight alone. The second movement, the Allegretto, a piece of music often employed in films, immediately had to be encored at this first concert.