Night of visions with Angela Hewitt

Shostakovich Piano Concerto No.1, op. 35
De Falla Nights in the Gardens of Spain
--- intermission ---
Shostakovich Three waltzes from Jazz Suite No 2.
Shostakovich Symphony No.9, op. 70

Featuring Angela Hewitt piano
in addition Gábor Devecsai trumpet
Conductor András Keller

András Keller and Concerto Budapest have already done much to promote the rediscovery (indeed, the renaissance) in Hungary of Dmitri Shostakovich. This endeavour similarly drives the current concert because three quarters of the programme is turned over to the works of the Soviet-Russian master composer. The youthful Shostakovich’s first piano concerto is hallmarked by an avant-garde and neo-Baroque experimentality, explosive energy and a virtually inexhaustible surge of invention. The C minor composition (1933) gives not only the piano but, interestingly, the trumpet such a key role that at times the composition sounds like a double concerto. This fine duality of play between the two instruments is handled by Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt, particularly lauded as a performer of Bach, and Gábor Devecsai, principal trumpet player with Concerto Budapest. Further pieces of Shostakovich to be played at the concert are the three light - but by no means weightless - waltzes from Jazz Suite No. 2 as well as the Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major which is often compared to symphonies by Haydn for its playfulness and wit. Alongside the several Shostakovich compositions there is a Mediterranean masterpiece: Manuel de Falla’s ‘quasi piano concerto’, the pièce de résistance of Spanish music impressionism, Nights in the Gardens of Spain, once again with solo by Angela Hewitt.