Dénes Várjon and the Concerto Budapest 2.2

BARTÓK: Hungarian Pictures, Sz. 97 BB 103
Bartók: Piano Concerto No. 2, BB 101
Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 55 (“Eroica”)

Dénes Várjon piano
Conductor: András Keller

The Eroica Symphony is a key piece not only of Beethoven’s oeuvre, but for the musical thinking of the 19th century as well, instituting an essential definition of what is musical structure and logic, what is the work of the composer, and what it means to think in music – notions that continue to hold strongly. “When I was young,” Bartók said in 1927, “my ideal of beauty was not so much the style of Bach or Mozart as that of Beethoven.” In an interview he gave to Dezső Kosztolányi two years earlier, he said “I still enjoy the Eroica as much as I used to.”

This concert of the Bartók Spring is presented by Müpa Budapest as a joint event with Liszt Academy.